Former Vice President Atiku Abubakar has won the presidential primary election of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

He defeated 11 other aspirants to win the ticket by polling 1532 votes at the party’s national convention held at the Adokiye Amiesimaka Stadium, Port Harcourt, Rivers State on Saturday and Sunday.

His votes outnumbered those of Sokoto State governor, Aminu Tambuwal and Senate President Bukola Saraki who got 693 and 317 votes respectively.

Former Governor of kano State, Rabiu Kwankwaso got 158 votes, Senator David Mark had 35 votes while Senator Jonah Jang got 19 votes.

Saminu Turaki scored 65votes;  Sule Lamido got 96 votes and Atahiru Bafarawa 48 votes.

ALSO READ:Protest Rocks Gombe PDP Primaries

Gombe State governor ,Ibrahim Dankwabo scored 111 votes while former Kaduna State governor Ahmed Markafi got 74 votes.

Atiku's votes is more than the combined votes of all the other aspirants.

The total number of accredited delegates from the 36 states and FCT is 3,274.

68 votes were voided

The implication of this victory is Atiku would square with President Muhammadu Buhari of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), whose adoption was ratified by the party,, at its special convention in the early hours of Sunday.

Atiku’s victory has sparked off jubilations among his numerous supporters at the  venue of the presidential primaries.

Please share this story with your family and friends