The hammer of the Benue House of Assembly has fallen on six local government chairmen.

The Assembly suspended the chairmen for three months over alleged misappropriation of public funds and gross misconduct.

The House suspended the chairmen on Monday during plenary in Makurdi.

The suspended chairmen were those of Oju LGA, Mr. Augustine Okwoche; Makurdi LGA, Mrs. Justina Akange Audu; Kwande LGA, Mr. Terdoo Kenti; and his deputy, Mr. Aondowaser Andrew.

ALSO READ - JUNE 12: Abiola’s Son Blasts Obasanjo

Others are: the chairmen of Agatu LGA, Mrs. Comfort Echoda and her deputy, Mr. Joseph Ngbede; Okpokwu LGA, Mr. Francis Oguche; and Gboko LGA, Mrs. Becky Orpin.

The House had received a correspondence from Governor Samuel Ortom, accusing the suspended chairmen of misappropriating local government funds, gross misconduct and abuse of office.

Ortom, in his correspondence, urged the House to approve the suspension of the accused chairmen.

In its decision, the House unanimously agreed that the chairmen be suspended for three months while they investigate the allegations against them.

It was gathered that all the local government chairmen suspended are members of the All Progressives Congress.

The publicity Secretary of APC in the state, James Ornguga, has described the suspension of its six local government chairmen as “politically motivated.”

Ornguga said on Monday in Makurdi that the allegations of financial impropriety against them were “smokescreen.”

Please share this story with your family and friends