The Nigeria women's basketball team, D’Tigress have been grouped alongside Turkey, Argentina and Australia for the 2018 FIBA Women’s World Cup taking place in Tenerife, Spain.

At a brief ceremony held on Tuesday at the Teatro Leal, San Cristobal de la Laguna, Spain, Nigeria was drawn in group B for the biggest women basketball tournament.

The team will be hoping to surpass their 2006 outing where they lost all their group games against China, Russia and United States before suffering another defeat in the classification game against Senegal to finish 16th.

READ ALSO: Lagos City Marathon: Ex-World Champion Confirms Wednesday Arrival

After conquering Africa in style in Bamako in 2017, the Nigerian Ladies will hope to cause a stir at the global stage later this year.

In the other outcomes from the draw ceremony conducted on Tuesday, Korea, Greece, Canada and France will be in Group A.

In Group C, Japan, Puerto Rico, Belgium and hosts Spain will be battling it out.

The final Group D has Olympic Champions, USA as well as the trio of Senegal, China, and Latvia.

The Women's Basketball World Cup will be taking place from 22 Sep 2018 – 30 Sep 2018.

ALSO WATCH: Bounce Sports: Highlights Of January 2018 Transfer Window And Final Tributes For Deji Tinubu