The 68-member National Convention Committee headed by Governor Mohammed Badaru Abubakar, will be inaugurated on Monday (today) in Abuja at the national secretariat of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

The approval for the inauguration of the convention committee was finally given after President Muhammadu Buhari returned to the country last Saturday.


APC’s National Organising Secretary, Sen. Osita Izunaso, had in a statement announced that the 68-member committee equally has governors of Imo, Borno, Katsina, Oyo, Yobe, Kaduna, Plateau, Adamawa, Kogi and Edo states as members.

Other members of the committee, which also included serving and former senators and members of House of Representatives and notable party chieftains, include: Ondo State governor, Rotimi Akeredolu and Sen. Ben Uwajumogu that serve as Deputy Chairman and Secretary, respectively.

The APC had also recently released a time table for its National Convention and Congresses. According to the timetable, the national convention will hold on May 14, 2018.

The ward congresses have been scheduled for May 2 while the local government congresses hold on May 5.

The state congresses will hold on May 9.

WATCH: Buhari has the right to contest again... Nigerians speak