The post-primary crises in the All Progressives Congress (APC) worsened on Thursday as more defections hit the party.

The defections occurred three days to the deadline given to political parties by the Independent National Electoral Commission for substitution of candidates.

States affected by latest defections are Ogun, Kogi, Kebbi and Imo.

Three APC lawmakers, including: Abdulkabir Akinlade (Ogun State), Mohammed Ajalah (Kogi State), and Salisu Koko (Kebbi State) left the party on Thursday.

Ajalah defected from the APC to the PDP, while Koko moved from the APC to the SDP.

Akinlade, who is the governorship candidate of the APC faction in Ogun State led by Governor Ibikunle Amosun, defected from the APC to the Allied People’s Movement.

The National Working Committee of the APC had affirmed Mr Dapo Abiodun, as the authentic governorship candidate of the APC in Ogun State, an action Amosun kicked against.

Four members of the House of Representatives had last week dumped the APC for various parties.

They are: Mukaila Kazzim representing Abeokuta North/Obafemi-Owode/Odeda in Ogun State, who is believed to be loyal to Amosun.

ALSO READ: 2019: Governor Obiano Denies Supporting Buhari For Re-election

All the lawmakers blamed their defections on the APC’s handling of its primaries and selection of candidates for the 2019 general elections.

Besides Akinlade, some of the loyalists of the governor that dumped the APC on Thursday for the APM include: the Majority Leader of the state House of  Assembly, Yinka Mafe (Sagamu Constituency 1); the Chief Whip, Idowu Olowofuja (Abeokuta South 2);  Tunde Sanusi (Obafemi-Owode); and Ganiyu Oyedeji  (Ifo 2  Constituency).

The Speaker of the Ogun State House of Assembly, Suraj Adekunbi (APC-Yewa North 1), read the defection letters of the members during plenary in Abeokuta on Thursday.

The lawmakers in their separate letters attributed their defections to the injustice during the primary elections of the APC.

The lawmakers noted that they took the decision after due consultation with their constituents and their supporters.

In Imo, Governor Okorocha on Thursday, told the Kano State Governor, Abdullahi Ganduje,  and Senator Godswill Akpabio that the crisis rocking the APC in the state was irreconcilable.

Although he had not announced it, it was gathered that Okorocha’s preferred governorship candidate, Uche Nwosu and members of the Imo State House of Assembly had left the APC for DPP.

When contacted, the APC Deputy National Publicity Secretary, Yekini Nabena, said the party would await the report of the Peace and Reconciliation Committee before taking any decision.

While expressing surprise about the defection, he said the party would work to ensure the development would not cause any tension among members.

Don't forget to share this story with your friends.