Early results of the Anambra governorship election released on Sunday show that the incumbent governor and candidate of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Willie Obiano, has taken an early lead.

The state collation of the results is ongoing at the state office of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

As at the time of filling report, nine of the 21 local government areas have been released.

The results were released by the state Returning Officer, Prof. Zana Akpagu, the Vice Chancellor of University of Calabar.

They local governments are: Njikoka, Ndulukofia, Awka south, Ayamelu, Aniocha, Orumba, Idemili South, Ekwusigo and Onitsha North

Obiano won in all the nine

Below are the results so far announced by INEC

Awka South Local Government
APGA 18,957
APC 6,167
PDP 5,354.

Njikoka Local Government
APGA 16,944
APC 5,756
PDP 3,477

Dunukofia Local Government
APGA 8,575
APC 7,016
PDP 1,530

Anyamelum Local Government
APGA 14,593
APC 5,413
PDP 2,323

Anaocha Local Government
APGA 11,237
APC 5,297
PDP 6,544.

Orumba South Local Government

APGA 8,125
APC 3,802
PDP 2,412

Ekwusigo Local Government
APGA 8,595
APC 5, 412
PDP 3,856

Aguata Local Government

APGA 13,167
APC 5,807
PDP 4,073

Onitsha North Local Government

APGA 10,138
APC 3,802
PDP 4,143

Also watch: Highlights From #AnambraDecides2017