Everyone thought it will be the ‘76’ and ’93 Days’ show, but it never happened.

‘76’ won 5 Awards, while ‘Oloibiri’ won 3 awards, but a major highlight of the night were the back to back wins of screen stars who carried their winning streak from 2016 to 2017.

Sambasa Nzeribe who won best supporting actor in 2016 for ‘A Soldier’s Story’ took  it the  next level when he beat Ramsey Nouah, Richard Mofe Damijo and Olu Jacobs to pick up the best actor trophy in 2017.

Funke Akindele ‘expected it’ when she picked 2 awards on the night one for ‘Best Actress in a comedy film or series’ and ‘Best Tv Series’ both for the popular hit series ‘Jenifa Dairies'. The actress won 'Best Actress in a comedy series' in 2016.

Last year, Jumoke Odetola won Best Indigenous Language film in the Yoruba category for 'Binta Ofege' and she returned to the 2017 AMVCA award in the same category to win with 'Somewhere in the dark'.

This year, there were new categories like ‘Best Sound Track/Original score’ and Mnet original series recognition awards, which had different subcategories.

Glamour And Glitz

One remarkable moment of the show was when South Africa singer, Lira, sang with Nigeria’s Waje on a new song titled ‘Mountains’ and at the end of the song, they held hands together and Lira said ‘Stop xenophobia’! This was to recognize the xenophobic attacks on foreigners living in South Africa.

Winner of ‘The Voice’ Nigeria, Araese, belted out melodic notes on ‘After a while’ to pay tribute to late screen stars in Africa, who have died in the past five years. Chika Okpala (Chief Zeburudaya of the ‘New Masqurade’ fame), an acting legend who is still alive, was rightfully recognized in the Industry Merit Award which comes with a brand new SUV.

‘76’ shone bright like diamonds on the night winning Best costume design, Best Art direction, Best Actress, Best Director and Best Overall Film.

‘Oloibiri’ which had less nominations than ’93 Days’  won in the ‘Best Makeup Artist’, ‘Best Picture Editor’ and ‘Best Movie in West Africa’

'93 Days' had over 10 nominations, but won just 1 award on the night in the category for ‘Best Lighting Design’

See full list of winners below

Trailblazer Award

Somkele Idhalama

Best Make Up Artiste (Movies/TV series)

Oloibiri - Hakeem Onilogbo Ajibola, Perekeme Odon

Best Costume Designer

76 - Pat Egwurube

Best Art Director

76 - Pat Nebo

Best Sound Editor (Movies/TV series)


Best Picture Editor (Movie/TV series)

Oloibiri - Nnodim Chigozie, Paula Peterson

Best Lighthing Designer (Movies/TV series)

93 Days - Elliot Sewape

Best Cinematographer

Happiness is a Four Letter Word - Lance Gewer

Best Documentary


Best Short Film or Online Video

Cat Face

Best Actress in an M-Net original comedy series

Deborah Anugwa - Hustle

Best Actor in an M-Net comedy series

Samuel Ajibola - "The Johnsons"

Best Actress in an M-Net original drama series

Meg Otanwa - "Hush"

Best Actor in an M-Net original drama series

David Jones David - "Hotel Majestic"

Best M-Net original comedy series

The Johnsons

Best M-Net original drama series


Best Indigenous Language  TV series/movies (Swahili)


Best Indigenous Language  TV series/movies (Hausa)

Yaki Da Zuciya

Best Indigenous Language  TV series/movies (Yoruba)

Somwhere in The Dark - Abiodun Jimoh, Jumoke Odetola

Best Indigenous Language  TV series/movies (Igbo)


Best Soundtrack/ Original Score

The Encounter - Michael 'The Truth' Ogunlade

Best TV series

Jenifa's Diary

Best Writer


Best Supporting Actress

Ebele Okaro Onyuike - Four One Love

Best Supporting Actor In A Drama (Movie/TV series)

Rotimi Salami - Just Not Married

Best Actor in a Comedy

Imeh Umoh Bishop - The Boss is Mine

Best Movie East Africa

Kati Kati

Best Movie West Africa


Best Movie Southern Africa

All About Love

Best Actress in a Drama (Movies/TV Series)

Rita Dominic - 76

Best Actor in  a Drama

Sambasa Nzeribe - Slow Country

Best Overall Movie


Best Director

76 - Izu Ojukwu

Life Achievement Award

Chika Okpala