Jimi Agbaje has been declared the winner of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Lagos governorship primary for the 2019 general elections.

Agbaje, who was the party’s candidate in the 2015 election, contested for the ticket with Adedeji Doherty.

He clinched the ticket again after an indirect election held on Thursday.

He polled 1,100 votes while Doherty got 742 votes.

The primary election which lasted for two days was supervised by a panel chaired by Victor Kassim Oyofo.

Declaring Agbaje victorious, Oyofo said, “By the power conferred on me by the PDP constitution, I now declare Agbaje PDP candidate for the 2019 governorship election in Lagos state.

Victor Oyofo

He will be facing the ruling All Progressives Congress candidate, Babajide Sanwo-Olu and other candidates in the March 2nd gubernatorial election in the state..

Agbaje had previously ran for the office of Governor of the “Centre of Excellence” in 2007 under the platform of the Democratic People’s Alliance (DPA) losing the election to the current Minister of Power, Works and Housing, Babatunde Raji Fashola (then Governor)

He again contested in 2015 under the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) losing to incumbent governor, Akinwunmi Ambode of the All Progressives Congress (APC) by a close margin.