The 2017 edition of the All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA) was a celebration of the continent's contemporary musical evolution.

The world listens when Africans sings and there is a growing fan base for African tunes across the Atlantic and Mediterranean.

The evening was coloured green and white - not only because Nigeria hosted the event in Africa's emerging Smart City - Lagos; but because Nigerians Rock!

Even though Wizkid lost out in two categories everyone assumed he will win- Record of the year for Sounds From The Other Side and video of the year for 'Come Closer' featuring Canadian Grammy award winner Drake.

Their expectations were cut short as Wizkid lost Best Music video to fellow compatriot Orezi for his video ‘Cooking Pot’ directed by Adasa Cookey and lost record of the year to Uganda’s Eddie Kenzo.

However, it was Star Boy who shun bright like a diamond despite being edged out twice.


Wizzy took home 3 awards on the night – Song of the Year, Artiste of the Year and Best West African Act (Male).

Other Nigerian acts: Simi, M.I, Tiwa Savage, Ycee, Orezi, 2Baba, Wande Coal, earned awards and the country won in a category that no one was expecting much from, when Asikey George - emerged winner Best Female Artiste in Inspirational Music.

Even Psquare were nominated as best group for the song 'Bank Alert'.

If they had won who would have collected the award- Peter, Paul or Jude?

The producer for Seyi Shay's song 'Yolo Yolo,' DJ Coublon won best producer, while Seyi Shay herself gave the crowd something to remember when she slipped and fell on stage.

See full list of winners below:

Best Central African Act (Male) – Locko

Best Central African Act (Female) – Montess

Best East African Act (Male) – Eddy Kenzo

Best East African Act (Female) – Nandy

Best Southern Africa Act (Male) – Emtee

Best West African Act (Male) – Wizkid

Best West African Act (Female) – Tiwa Savage

Best African Collaboration – Alikiba feat M.I – “AJE“

Best Artist in African Rock – Gilad Millo (Kenya)

Best Artist or Group in African RnB & Soul – Alikiba feat. M.I – “AJE“

Best Artist or Group in African Contemporary: DJ Tunez feat. Wande Coal – “Iskaba“

Best Artist or Group in African Raggae & Dancehall – 2Face Idibia – “Holy Holy“

Best Artist or Group in African Hip Hop – Ycee – “Juice“

Best Artist of Group in African Pop – Toofan

Video of the Year – Orezi x Adasa Cookey – “Cooking Pot“

Best Female Artist in Inspirational Music: Asikey George

African Songwriter of the Year – Simi

Record of the Year-Edddie Kenzo

Producer of the Year – DJ Coublon for Seyi Shay’s “Yolo Yolo“

Artist of the Year – Wizkid

Song of the Year – Wizkid feat. Drake – “Come Closer“