The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) says six governors of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) will join its fold soon.

PDP National Publicity Secretary, Kola Ologbondiyan, also said twenty-seven members of the national assembly in the ruling party will be heading to the opposition party.

The PDP spokesman, who did not disclose the names of the governors and lawmakers, said the move is an aftermath of discussions the party has had with them.

His words: “The party has already concluded discussions with six APC governors and 27 APC members in the National Assembly, who have also drawn their consultations and secured the mandates of their constituents to move to the PDP ahead of the 2019 general election,” he said in a statement.

“The PDP verifies that discussions on control of party structures in the affected states and senatorial zones have also reached advanced stage and would be completed in a couple of weeks after which the governors and lawmakers will announce their defection to the PDP.”

ALSO READ: Another Reason To Install Bounce News App

Ologbondiyan said the lawmakers would move to the party once the national assembly reconvenes.

Speaking further, the PDP spokesman said all grey areas of the agreement, including issues of waivers and accommodation for participation in primaries, are being smoothened out by the party’s contact and integration committee. “The PDP also commends the spirit of tolerance, dialogue, accommodation and oneness of purpose that pervade the alliance among members,” he said.

“The party expresses its readiness to take back control of power at the center, as well as in our traditional states of Plateau, Niger, Adamawa, Kano, Bauchi, Nasarawa, Kebbi, Kaduna, Katsina, Kogi, Jigawa, Zamfara, Imo, Edo as well as southwest states of Oyo, Ogun, Osun, Ondo, Lagos states.

“The PDP therefore charges all members and supporters to remain steadfast and wary of the gimmicks of the deflated APC, which has resorted to sponsoring spurious publications filled with deceptions, fabrications and lies against our party.”

Three APC governors which include Benue, Kwara and Sokoto state governors and thirty-five lawmakers  had recently moved to the opposition party.

Don’t forget to share this article with your friends and family.

ALSO WATCH: Side Chics Are Helping Marriages Survive | Over The Bottles