The gale of defections rocking the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the country on Wednesday has blown five members of the party in Ondo State to the governing All Progressives Congress (APC).

The five lawmakers, who joined their colleagues who had earlier defected, include the immediate past Deputy Speaker, Hon. Fatai Olotu (Akoko North East), Hon. Akinyele Fasogbon (Odigbo II), Hon. Kuti Towase (Akoko South East), Hon. Bimbo Fajolu (Ileoluji/Okeigbo) and Hon. Tuyi Akintimehin (Idanre).

The defection of the five PDP lawmakers swelled the APC to 18 members while PDP, which hitherto had 21 members, has been reduced to eight members. This development has given the ruling party the two-third majority needed to take any decision in the House of Assembly.

The defecting lawmakers and their supporters were received into the APC by Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu at a colourful ceremony held at the International Event Centre, The Dome, in Akure.

One of the former PDP lawmakers, Hon. Abayomi Akinruntan, who also joined APC last month, had reportedly facilitated the decision of more of his colleagues to join the ruling party.