After months of uncertainty, the much anticipated council elections in Lagos State will hold in less than 48 hours.

Here are the five things you need to know about the elections:

1. The elections will be conducted in 20 local government areas and 37 local council development areas in all 377 wards in the state. 12 political parties have been cleared to contest: All Progressives Congress (APC), People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Kowa Party (KP), Labour Party (LP), Accord Party (AP), and the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA).

Others are: United Democratic Party (UDP), Action Alliance (AA), Alliance for Democracy (AD), United Progressive Party (UPP), People’s Democratic Movement (PDM), and the National Action Council (NAC).

2. In total 1,300 chairmanship and councillorship candidates of various parties were captured on the list for the elections

3. 18 of the immediate past chairmen are currently seeking an opportunity to return to their seats.

They are :
Surulere LGA: Hon Tajudeen Ajide
Coker Aguda LCDA: Hon Akinyemi Obe
Ifelodun LCDA: Mr Shuaibu Fatai

Iba LCDA: Mrs Ramota Oseni

Ifako Ijaye LGA: Hon Oloruntoba Oke

Onigbongbo LCDA: Mr Tunde Oke
Ojodu LCDA:  Hon Julius Oloro
Ayobo Ipaja LCDA: Mr Shakiru Yusuf
Agbado Oke Odo LCDA: Mr Adeoye Arogun
Igando Ikotun LCDA: Mrs Adesina Williams
Alimosho LGA: Hon Sola Adekunle
Oshodi Isolo LGA: Hon Bolaji Ariyo
Isolo LCDA: Hon Olaleye Shamsideen
Ibeju Lekki LGA: Mr Semi Olorunkemi
Lekki LCDA: Mr Olaitan Ogidan
Ikosi-Isheri LCDA: Mr Fatai Oyesanya
Agboyi-Ketu LCDA: Hon Femi Durosinmi
Kosofe LGA: Hon Tunde Sofola

3. The Lagos State Independent Electoral Commission (LASIEC) has adopted simultaneous accreditation and voting system for the exercise.  Accreditation and voting will commence by 8am and end by 2pm.

4. Card Readers would not be used because the law setting up the commission had no provision for the use of the machine for the conduct of its elections. Accreditation and voting would be done manually.