The 8th National Assembly will undoubtedly go down as one of the most memorable in Nigeria's young democracy.

From the events leading to the emergence of Bukola Saraki as senate president, to the senate's various showdowns with the presidency, attack of the senate by thugs which led up to theft of the mace, and the lock-down of the senate by operatives of the Department of State Service (DSS). Barely a month went by without members of the upper legislature being caught up in one political brouhaha or the other.

The long awaited 2019 elections have finally come and gone, but interestingly, the results have not been favourable for some senators who played key roles in the 8th assembly.

Here are 3 heavyweight Nigerian senators who won't be returning to the 9th assembly.

Shehu Sanni

1. Shehu Sani

During his time in the senate, Sani will probably best be remembered for his many spats with his former party, APC and the Kaduna state governor, Nasir el-Rufai.

In August 2018, Sani was suspended by the APC and eventually in October of same 2018, he eventually left the party for the Peoples Redemption Party (PRP) under which he contested for the Kaduna Central Senatorial District.

Shehu however lost to the APC candidate - Uba Sani, only managing to poll 70,613 votes as against Sani's 355,242 votes and PDP's Lawal Usman's 195,497.

2019 elections
Godswill Akpabio

2. Godswill Akpabio

Akpabio left many shocked after announcing his defection from the People's Democratic Party (PDP) to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) in August 2018.

Prior to his defection, Akpabio had served as minority leader in the senate and was undoubtedly one of PDP's most influential members, having served an 8-year term as Akwa Ibom state governor.

But as it turns out, Akpabio's influence seems to have been swept away as he only secured 67,487 votes against PDP's Chris Ekpeyong's 136,373 votes.

On that note, Akpabio would have served only one term in the senate.

Also watch: No PVC, No Entry: Nigerian Churches Deamnd For PVC?

3. Bukola Saraki

Senate President, Bukola Saraki's exit from the Nigerian senate is shaping up to be one of the biggest upstages of the 2019 general elections.

In June 2015, the former Kwara state governor pretty much outwitted the APC to become senate president, and so began his political machinations as senate president of the 8th assembly.

2019 elections
Bukola Saraki

In July 2018, Saraki finally put speculations to rest by ditching the APC for PDP and went ahead to declare his intention to run for president. He would eventually step down for Atiku Abubakar to become the Director General of Atiku's campaign.

However, Saraki's tall political ambitions seem to have come to a screeching halt following his resounding defeat at the polls.

Saraki lost all 4 local governments in the Kwara Central Senatorial District polling 68,994 votes as against APC's 
Dr. Ibrahim Oloriegbe's 123,808.