As part of the strategies to reclaim the presidency in 2019, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has set up a 22-member committee to mobilise for a new coalition.

The 22-member committee known as the Contact and Integration Committee headed by the former Governor of Cross River State, Liyel Imoke, will be reaching out to all political interest groups, including top members of the APC who are interested in changing change.

The committee would be inaugurated by the National Chairman of PDP, Uche Secondus, later this week.


Others members of the committee include: Senator Ibrahim Tsauri (Secretary), Governors Ayo Fayose and Darius Ishaku as members.

Others are Senator Joshua Lidani, Hon. Kingsley Chinda, Senator Ibrahim Kazaure, Austin Umahi,  Erelu Obada, Inna Ciroma and Ambassador Kema Chikwe; Hon. Emmanuel Enoidem, Ambassador Aminu Wali, Dr. Mohammed Haliru Bello, Tom Ikimi, Senator Ben Obi, Dr Babangida Aliyu, Gabriel Suswam, Senator Abdul Ningi, Hon. Ajibola Muraino,  Ibrahim Hamza and Moses Clopas Zuwegho.

It was gathered that the committee’s terms of reference goes as far as negotiating on issues relating to power sharing and distribution of offices among the coalition parties.

It was learnt that the new PDP national leadership has taken its time to draw guidelines and rules of engagement in order to avoid the experience of the APC which failed to managed the varying interest groups after its victory in 2015.

WATCH: Buhari has the right to contest again... Nigerians speak