The crisis in the Peoples Democratic Party in Ekiti State has deepened as the party’s members in the state House of Assembly disowned the Presidential Campaign Council inaugurated by former Governor Ayodele Fayose.

The PDP state lawmakers expressed support for the Yinka Akerele-led Atiku Campaign Council inaugurated on Tuesday by the Senate Minority Leader, Biodun Olujimi, describing it as the authentic body.


The lawmakers made their position known in a letter addressed to the PDP National Chairman, Uche Secondus, and dated January 8 made available to journalists in Ado Ekiti, the state capital, on Wednesday.

The Deputy Speaker, Olusegun Adewunmi, led the 12 PDP lawmakers who signed the letter.

The letter read, “We stand by the authentic list duly signed and published by the PDP nominated and accepted Director-General, Yinka Akerele. Anything short of this will again spell doom for the fortune of our party in the forthcoming elections.”

ALSO READ: Thugs Invade Atiku Campaign Office, Destroy Billboards

It added, “For the avoidance of any doubt, we the undersigned are the only remaining structure of PDP in Ekiti State and abhor any arrangement that will relegate us to the background in the scheme of political activities in Ekiti State.”

Olujimi, a PDP senator and senatorial candidate, had on Monday faulted the composition of the campaign council published by the pro-Fayose group, saying it was at variance with what was agreed at a PDP meeting.

Consequently, parallel Atiku campaign councils were inaugurated on Tuesday. While the pro-Fayose group has Dipo Anisulowo as DG, the pro-Olujimi group has Yinka Akerele as DG.

The PDP lawmakers who signed the letter include Adewunmi, Omodara Olaposi, Badejo Anifowose, Musa Arogundade, Olayode Omotosho, Titilayo Akerele, Cecilia Dada, Afolabi Akanni, Ojo-Ade Fajana, Olayanju Olanrewaju, Adewale Ayeni and Temitope Fasanmi.

If you enjoyed reading this and our other stories, please, share with friends and loved ones.

Governor Begs Buhari to End Boko Haram, Egypt to host AFCON 2019 and more