No fewer than 7000 delegates are participating in today’s special convention of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) aimed at affirming the candidature of President Muhammadu Buhari ahead of the 2019 polls.

The convention is a culmination of series of events which began with the special congresses to select delegates for the the convention which will be presided over by the National Chairman Comrade Adams Oshiomhole and members of the National Working Committee of the party.

Initially, the convention was expected to also deliberate on the way forward for the party, but the convention committee headed by Oyo State Governor Abiola Ajimobi said it will be a one-agenda event.

Addressing a news conference at the APC national secretariat in Abuja on Friday, Deputy Chairman of the convention committee and Borno State Governor, Kashim Shettima, said the confirmation and rectification of the candidacy of the President is a commitment to steady progressive and positive change.

ALSO READ: Wide Margin As Sanwo-Olu Wins Lagos APC Primary Election

Shettima, who stood in for Chairman of the Convention Committee, said: “Let me assure you that the nomination and ratification of the candidacy of President Muhammadu Buhari is a commitment to service, progressive and quality change.

“Despite some of the problems we have encountered during the primaries in our various states, the National Working Committee of the party is working assiduously to resolve all the issues. It is a family quarrel and we are going to sort things out amicably.

“The party is doing and will continue to do all it can to resolve all the issues amicably so that everyone can be carried along and we can all unite as one in order to ensure that President Muhammadu Buhari is returned to the poll come February 2019.

It was, however, observed that some states may not be part of the convention as they were yet to conclude their primaries, which must be concluded by Sunday at the latest, which is the last day for the submission of list of candidates to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Please share the story! 

WATCH - Osun Decides 2018: PDP Supporters Mock Tinubu