Salisu Garba Koko, member representing Maiyama/Koko /Base Federal Constituency of Kebbi in the House of Representatives has defected from the All Progressives Congress (APC) to the Social Democratic Party (SDP).

The decision of the lawmaker to dump APC was as a result of the party’s inability to give a return ticket to contest in the 2019 general elections.

Koko claimed that the genuine list of delegates was changed during the primaries.

He said he has explored all lawful means to get his mandate restored to him but was frustrated by the powers that be.

According to him, even the committee set up by the party to attend to issues of irregularities during the primaries didn’t help matters.

ALSO READ - 2019: Atiku Explains To Ikweremadu Why He Chose Obi Ahead Of Him

The defection of Koko brings the number of lawmakers who have defected to SDP in less than two weeks from APC to two.

Recall that  four APC federal lawmakers had about two weeks ago defected to opposition parties.

Dada Awoleye, representing Ibadan North Federal Constituency, defected to Accord Party while Rep. Segun William representing Abeokuta South Federal Constituency, defected to Labour Party.

Hassan Lawali representing Anka/Mafara Federal Constituency, Zamfara, defected to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) while Rep Adesina Adedapo, representing Ibadan North-East/South- East Federal Constituency defected to the African Democratic Congress (ADC).

Also watch: