The organizers of the Nigeria Pitch Awards have congratulated members of the victorious Super Eagles who last Saturday at the FNB Stadium in  Nasrec, Johannesburg sealed their 2019 Africa Cup of Nations ticket.

The President of the Nigeria Pitch Awards, Shina Philips, said ‘We rejoice with all football loving Nigerians especially the President, board and management of the Nigeria Football Federation who have worked with the coaching crew to set the team up for victory after the Eagles loss to South Africa in the Nest of Champions in Uyo in June 2018.’

‘We recall that the Super Eagles’ 2-0 loss to the Bafana Bafana happened on the same day the 4th edition of the Nigeria Pitch Awards Ceremony was to take place. The award ceremony eventually became low-key because of the mood of the nation’, Philip further said.

READ ALSO: Nigeria Vs Uganda: Youngsters Lead Super Eagles' Attack

‘As Organizers, we are committed to celebrating Nigerian football whether the teams win or lose because we see every loss as an inspiration to work harder and achieve more’. Philips concluded.

Since her maiden edition in Calabar in 2013, the Nigeria Pitch Awards has continued to light up the Nigeria football scene by recognizing and honouring deserving footballers and officials.

Among past winners of the awards are Super Eagles Skipper and Tianjin TEDA midfielder, John Obi Mikel, former Super Eagles Captain and goalkeeper, Vincent Enyeama, Super Eagles striker and Changchun Yatai striker, Odion Ighalo, former Eagles Captain and coach, Stephen Okechukwu Keshi and Asisat Oshoala, Super Falcons and Dalian Quanjian F.C sensation, Asisat Oshoala among others.

The 6th edition of the awards is billed to hold in March 2019. 

Don’t forget to please share this story with your friends and family...