For defecting to the African Democratic Congress (ADC), 118 serving lawmakers at the federal and state levels have been given automatic tickets.

The National Chairman of ADC, Ralphs Nwosu, announced the party’s decision at its 61st National Executive Committee meeting, in Abuja on Thursday, September 6th.

In a statement signed by the National Publicity Secretary of the ADC, Yemi Kolapo, the national chairman was quoted as saying the move was necessary to encourage the defectors.

He said the lawmakers, who recently defected to the party from the ruling All Progressives Congress and other parties, were rewarded for coming out boldly to identify with the “fastest growing party” in Nigeria at a crucial time in the history of the country’s democracy.

Ninety-five of the defecting legislators are serving states House of Assembly members, 18 are members of the House of Representatives, and five are senators.

Nwosu said, “We need to honour and appreciate them because they abandoned the ruling and bigger parties for a party that is just gathering momentum.

READ: 3 Quick Steps To Get New Bounce Football Feature

“The development can be attributed to the fact that the lawmakers and Nigerians at large have agreed that an end must come to anarchy, insecurity, lack of focus and terrorism in Nigeria.

“And the best platform, right now, is the ADC. They are from Adamawa, Ondo, Osun, Imo, Ebonyi, Ogun and Oyo states, among others.”

Those that have been given automatic party include: two senators, Sen. Abdul-Azeez Nyako representing Adamawa Central Senatorial District and Monsurat Sunmonu representing Oyo Central senatorial district.

Others are 15 out of the 32 members of  Oyo State House of Assembly, four members of the Osun State Assembly and three members of the Ogun State House of Assembly.

If you enjoyed reading this and our other stories, please, share with friends and loved ones.